< Koba ! >

Unfiction & Lost Media

October 05, 2024

I just watched a Sagan Hawkes on a lost dinosaur game from the late 90's to early 00's. It was an amazing video, and it made me think about other videos and series that creators like him make.

The ability to turn nostalgia, or maybe more likely broken memories, into a riveting story, never fails to capture me. Maybe one of the more prominent examples of this would be Petscop - A fake game that supposedly was in development for the PSX in 1997. It might not be perfect, but in my opinion it is a true masterpiece in the unfiction genre.

But then, in some cases, the story turns out to be true. The unfiction becomes fact, and the lost media... found. Like it was waiting for us, waiting for someone to find it and bring it back into the limelight, even if for a brief moment. Maybe I'm just looking into this too much.

Perhaps it strikes me a bit closer, because I experienced something similar a few years ago. I had sudden memories about some old games I used to play. One on the PSX, and one on the PC.

The PSX game was about being a secret agent stopping a terrorist plot, but the entire gameplay took place in a car. The intro cutscene was about a car bombing a bridge. I remember the bomb always looked like cheese. It took me a few months of searching on YouTube, Wikipedia, and other sites like OldGamesDownload, before I finally found it; Auto Destruct. Not quite lost media, but obscure enough to feel lost, at least to me.

The second was, thankfully, easier to find. It was an old Reader Rabbit title, for CD-ROM. I remember playing this game long past growing outside of the target age... I'm not sure why. I just liked the innocence and how smart it made me feel since by this point I was at least 4-5 years older than the target ages. Don't read into that too much.

After some digging again, and another trip to OldGamesDownload, I found it. Reader Rabbit 2nd Grade (Classic Edition). I remembered playing as the lion, exploring a castle to save Reader Rabbit.

I guess I don't have a great way to end this blog. I just wanted to reminisce on these old games that some good YouTube videos reminded me about.

I love these kinds of stories.


<< Return to main blog

Hosted by  

Made by me! ©2024